Child Welfare Services

Lake County Department of Social Services (LCDSS) administers the Child Welfare Services (CWS) program under federal and state statutes and regulations. CWS is responsible to obtain or provide interventions and services to address child abuse and neglect. The overarching goals of the child welfare programs are to promote safety, permanence and well-being for the children we serve.

The four traditional service components of the program were established through State Senate Bill 14, enacted in 1982 to implement federal requirements under Public Law 96-272:

  • Emergency Response
  • Family Maintenance
  • Family Reunification
  • Permanent Placement

Adoption is one aspect of permanent placement; it is also a program in its own right and is the work of the county adoption agency, which is part of LCDSS, CWS.

The California Department of Social Services (CDSS) now offers a Family Urgent Response Service (FURS) Hotline for foster youth, former foster youth, and foster families who need immediate support. Please click on these fliers to learn whether the FURS Hotline can assist you:

Learn more about How Drugs Affect Children at All Stages of Development.